Creating a simulated Redox Flow Battery/ESS

Hello,

I am new to OpenEMS. For our project as seen in this file we need to implement an ESS with a lithium and redox flow batteries. As stated in the documentation, an ESS is a battery and battery inverter.

Therefore, the simulated ESS doesn’t match my requirements. How would you recommend implementing a redox flow battery and an ESS as stated above?

Additionally, how can I specify the type of the EV Charging Station Connector (AC/DC) in the Apache Felix Console for the Simulator EVCS component?

Any suggestions? I’d appreciate it a lot!

Best regards,
Ahmed.

Hi Ahmed,

for simulation it should be sufficient to start with the following setup:

• Simulator EssSymmetric Reacting (Simulator.EssSymmetric.Reacting)

• id: ess1
    • alias: Lithium
    • remaining settings (maxApparentPower, capacity and initialSoc) as required
  • Simulator EssSymmetric Reacting (Simulator.EssSymmetric.Reacting)

• id: ess2
    • alias: Redox Flow
    • remaining settings (maxApparentPower, capacity and initialSoc) as required
  • ESS Cluster (Ess.Cluster)

• id: ess0
    • ess_ids:
      • ess1
      • ess2
  • Simulator EVCS (Simulator.Evcs)

• not sure how functional this is…

Then apply a fix Active-Power Set-Point to the simulated ESS-Cluster:

• Controller Ess Fix Active Power (Controller.Ess.FixActivePower)
    • id: ctrlFixActivePower0
    • ess_id: ess0
    • power: 10000 (in [W], positive for discharge)

From there you will want to try to optimize how ess1 and ess2 are used in combination and distribute the requested power among each other. You can e.g. put Set-Points to each individual ess via a FixActivePower-Controller (e.g. set 10000 discharge to ess0 and 2000 discharge to ess2 and see what happens). There are different strategies in OpenEMS to decide how to distribute power (->openems/io.openems.edge.ess.core/src/io/openems/edge/ess/core/power/optimizers at develop · OpenEMS/openems · GitHub)