General question

Hello OpenEMS community,

I am a newbie to OpenEMS platform, and I have been exploring its documentation. I am delighted to share that I have successfully implemented a sample simulation where I powered a load using the grid, battery, and solar panel sources. During this process, I used various controllers, such as the Controller Balancing Symmetric to minimize grid usage, and the Controller Peak-Shaving Symmetric to eliminate peak-shaving. The experience was truly fascinating.

As I continue my exploration, I have come across a few questions about the platform. My current use case involves managing energy in industrial zones. For example, I need to provide the platform with data like the electricity price throughout the day. In Morocco, the electricity price is higher during the day than at night. Hence, my goal is to employ controllers that establish algorithms to control when to use renewable energy sources, the battery (charge/discharge), or the grid based on this data. This is just one example; the platform should be capable of handling similar scenarios.

Moreover, there might be situations where there is a peak power demand during the day, and renewable energy sources or the battery alone might not be sufficient to handle it. Additionally, there may be restrictions on using the grid beyond a certain limit. In such cases, I would like to know if the controller can prioritize turning off certain appliances based on factors like weather, time of day, date, and other parameters, to optimize energy usage. Can the platform handle all of these scenarios?

Lastly, during my usage of the platform’s user interface, I noticed that all the loads are presented with just one logo, without displaying how much each component consumes or produces. It would be extremely beneficial for me to have a feature in the UI that provides information on individual component consumption and production.