How to install openEMS production ready?

Hi,

I’m new to openEMS and would like to try it out in my own environment. I’ve read much about it but what I didn’t found is how do I deploy it production ready? Maybe I missed something in the documentation or didn’t search enough?
I only found the getting started guide which describes setting up a dev environment, but this is not what I want.A quick look at the github repository tells me it is built using gradle but as I’m not a java developer, I’m a bit lost.
Could someone guide me through this gradle jungle and explain how to set up a production ready system? Are there any binary releases or are there any container images to run in docker/podman?

Best regards
Sven

Hi Sven,

there are some guides in the documentation that explain how to build and deploy OpenEMS Edge, UI + Backend:

Unfortunately there are no binary releases yet, sorry. I need to look into GitHub Actions on how to provide the built artefacts for download.

Regards,
Stefan

Hi Stefan,

thanks for your help, I must have missed this.

Regards
Sven

Hi,

despite your help I didn’t manage to get openems to work and gave up.
As we now have our photovoltaics system I would like to give OpenEMS another try.
On github I saw there are binaries being distributed now.

My first try was to download the edge binary and run it “java -jar path/to/binary” but that didn’t work, there were lots of messages about missing requirements.

Can you please provide me with the following:

1. How do I run the binaries?
  2. What do I need to do to configure OpenEMS, are there configuration templates or so?

Kind regards
Sven

Hi Sven,
yes it is so easy :). just run java -jar FILE and it should run with java17
than there should just be an error message, that no schedular is configured. just configure alphatic Schedular and the warning is away.

best regards

Pauli

1 Like

Hi Pauli,

thanks a lot, now it starts without an error except for the scheduler.